SAW Overview

WP_20151008_003[1]

I’ve had an interesting couple of months reviewing this thing. I’ve even gone through nearly losing my laptop, writing a season’s worth of X-Files episodic reviews and loosing my notes and drives constantly. Having seen the series all the way through has left me with some sense of accomplishment I admit, but that’s not what this is about. This is about whether or not the SAW heptalogy is worth your time. I argue yes, begrudgingly. The series is undoubtedly iconic, and the intricate traps brings the excitement to life. At first it felt like it was going somewhere and other times it goes completely off course, because it wasn’t meant to be watched that way. It’s not made so to return to one particular chapter to enjoy. The whole series is center on assembling a puzzle before your eyes from what started with a college experiment. If you could manage the collection without the third one than I would argue that you’re not missing much of anything. Most of the flaws (not all) are brought to light much like a fix to try to cover plot holes in each one, and at first that’s what it felt like to me. The series was using sequels to make up for plot holes. Apparently, that’s not the case. I still feel like there were definite adjustments in order to make the story as a whole work better, but looking at it as a who I don’t care too much. I honestly prefer when writer and directors look to fill any gaps or fix any problems that the story as a whole struggles from. However, you are going to start to feel repetitious. For a series made to be seen as a whole, I would heavily recommend avoiding repetitions in story arches. The bigger question is would I recommend buying it. Yes, and no. I presume the costs even at a 2nd time around or BuyBacks will have the collection starting at 15 dollars. If you could manage a deal to down that to 7 dollar than that would be advisable. Other wise, I would think long and hard about spending that money. Think of how much hours worth you might be working in relationship to what you’re paying.

Leave a comment